SpeedyDad
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 12:21 am

Set Prime Pillar distance

Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:19 pm

I did a search and didn't find this.

I'd like to see an option to set the distance the prime pillar prints from the model.

My printer is multi-extrusion using an E3D Chimera. I use clips to hold the glass to the heatbed and the pillar prints all the way at the edge of the bed. The second extruder usually hits the clips when printing big objects. If I could move the pillar in closer, this would solve this problem.

yonkiman
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: Set Prime Pillar distance

Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:32 am

A little late to help the OP, but for anyone else... The trick I use to move the prime pillar is to place a 1-layer high small object between what I'm printing and where I want the prime pillar. Combined with the prime pillar's compass settings, I can put it pretty much wherever I want on the bed.

Snerkles
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:42 am

Re: Set Prime Pillar distance

Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:53 pm

Thank you. I would like to see in future Simplify 3d versions that you could move the pillar. I just did a simple block on my printer, earlier, and it would have turned out beautiful but it didn't because the pillar attached itself to the block. I will be implementing putting a spacer between the pillar and the object I print from now on.

S3D-Jake
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: Set Prime Pillar distance

Wed Jul 29, 2020 9:58 am

Great feature request and a great workaround!
"A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song."

Profkanz
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:29 pm

Re: Set Prime Pillar distance

Sun Aug 23, 2020 2:46 pm

I agree that prime pillar location should customizable in X and Y. My other slicers allow this and it is VERY useful to have.

Return to “Feature Requests”