advancedrescue

Dual extruders printing w/diff diam nozzles

Hey guys, I'm new to using simplified and doing ok figuring out the basics. I just had an idea, and perhaps it's been done or discussed. I'll try my best to describe in detail what I'm wondering about.

I'd like to use both of my E3D volcano extruders on the same print job, both being heated up and ready, or at least in standby slightly lower when not in use. I'd like my 1st extruder that has a .4 tip to print the exterior layers, and the 2nd extruder that has .8(or .6/1.2) to do the infill.

The 1st extruder would need to lay down multiple layers that has to equal one layer extruder from extruder 2 with the larger diameter nozzle.
So if Ext2 has .8, then Ext1 would need to lay down two layers of the exterior to match the one layer from Ext2 on the infill. Or Ext2 using a 1.2 would need Ext1 to lay down 3 layers on the exterior if using .4 nozzle.

The idea is that I can get a decent print cosmetically on the outside and instead of printing in fine layers on the inside I can lay down some bulk fill, saving a tone of time , also have some filament I don't use that could be great for infill.

Summary
Print job A

Use extruder 1
-- print 2 ext layers(or more depending on extruder 2 nozzle diameter)

Switch extruders

Use extruder 2
-- infill
-- print one layer that's the equal to the extrude from the 1st extruder

I'm wondering if it's possible, and how would you go about it
brian442

Re: Dual extruders printing w/diff diam nozzles

Sure. Setup both extruders with the different nozzle diameters, then set the primary extruder to the 0.4mm one so that will be used for the outlines, and set the infill extruder to the 0.8mm one. So now the outlines will be printed with the smaller nozzle, and the infill with the thick one.