tobyCwood
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 1:59 pm

No cooling fan on

Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:26 pm

With my Rep2 and GPX... I have the cooling fan set to go on at layer 2 and at 100%... but it does not go on. I have to do it manually. v2.0 worked fine.

tobyCwood
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: No cooling fan on

Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:30 am

So this bug in 2.1 is going to continue to be ignored. With GPX the cooling fan will not turn on.
Works OK with gcode machines with Marlin... but NOT MBI machines. PLEASE address this.

dnewman
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:00 pm

Re: No cooling fan on

Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:48 am

Out of curiosity, are the M126 / M127 commands in the generated gcode?

Yes: then GPX ain't turning them into the proper x3g which, in turn, suggests that GPX is being told the wrong machine type.
No: well, that's special since you did elsewhere indicate that you had "M126 S$" (or similar) in your settings for the bot.

Dan

teamcarlisle2
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:55 am

Re: No cooling fan on

Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:53 pm

I have the same problem on my replicator 2 with sailfish on S3D 2.1 . At first, I noticed that the default profile had layer 1 set to both enable and disable the fan speed. So I changed it so that layer one was set to 0% and layer 2 to 100% but that didnt make a difference. I have doublechecked that simplify3d knows I have a replicator 2. Heres how the gcode looks coming out of S3D:

G1 X-8.88 Y-1.062 E0.0677
G1 E-1 F1200
; layer 2, Z = 0.38
M126 S[fan_speed_pwm]
G0 X-4.454 Y-3.479 F9000
G0 Z0.38 F1200
G1 E1 F1200

I honestly dont know gcode well, but when I check older gcode files made from 2.0.1 would say:

M126 S255

So I think the gcode isnt generating correctly

teamcarlisle2
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:55 am

Re: No cooling fan on

Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:55 pm

I should have also mentioned this was a clean install of S3D 2.1 on a new computer that didnt have any older versions on it incase that helps.

Dssguy1
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: No cooling fan on

Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:23 pm

If that is what your actualy gcode file looks like, it is a problem where S3D is not passing variables to the gcode. So instead of it saying "M126 S255" like the previous version, it is showing "M126 S[fan_speed_pwm]". The variable of "[fan_speed_pwm]" should be turning into "255" when the gcode is generated. There are about 4 threads all talking about the same general issue. Hopefully they are reading these and have a fix on the way. It seems like it would be a pretty obvious fix since you can look directly at the gcode and see if it "is" or "is not" fixed.
teamcarlisle2 wrote:I have the same problem on my replicator 2 with sailfish on S3D 2.1 . At first, I noticed that the default profile had layer 1 set to both enable and disable the fan speed. So I changed it so that layer one was set to 0% and layer 2 to 100% but that didnt make a difference. I have doublechecked that simplify3d knows I have a replicator 2. Heres how the gcode looks coming out of S3D:

G1 X-8.88 Y-1.062 E0.0677
G1 E-1 F1200
; layer 2, Z = 0.38
M126 S[fan_speed_pwm]
G0 X-4.454 Y-3.479 F9000
G0 Z0.38 F1200
G1 E1 F1200

I honestly dont know gcode well, but when I check older gcode files made from 2.0.1 would say:

M126 S255

So I think the gcode isnt generating correctly

teamcarlisle2
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:55 am

Re: No cooling fan on

Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:19 pm

I'm just going to stick with 2.01 for now. Even with having to turn on the fan manually, my prints don't look nearly as nice as they did before. So I'm thinking it might not be the only variable that isn't setting up right. Thanks for the feed back though (even though I didn't start the thread, I'm glad someone did)

teamcarlisle2
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:55 am

Re: No cooling fan on

Tue May 06, 2014 10:09 pm

Had anyone found a fix yet? Or at least heard if the simplify developers have acknowledged the problem.

JoeJ
Posts: 1436
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:52 am

Re: No cooling fan on

Sat May 10, 2014 12:22 pm

If you just put M126 S255 at the bottom of your starting gcode script it will turn the fan on. Just be sure to remove all of the fan setpoints on the Cooling tab since you don't need them with this method.

teamcarlisle2
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:55 am

Re: No cooling fan on

Wed May 14, 2014 10:14 am

Thanks for the input. I probably should have been more clear though, I meant does anyone know of a fix for simplify not passing variables to the gcode in general. I was wondering if maybe there was a dependency that the simplify team forgot to include in the installer or something.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”