chopperaddict
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:04 pm

Error message from my slicer settings

Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:20 pm

Hi

This problem is driving me nuts, as I have tried almost every combination to stop this message, but all to no avail.
Whenever I click the "Prepare to print" button, I am almost always presented with the same dialog box that says basically -

"The chosen Layer height and extrusion Width settings have resulted in an infill width/height ratio below 1.2"

WooHoo, what in the hell does that mean ? I have no idea what I need to change to fix this issue, but it is certainly correct and does effect my prints adversely, so if anyone can point me in the right direction to remove this infuriating warning and get my prints working correctly again I woud be eternally grateful.

It would not be so bad if there was some form help attached to it, but there is NOT, leaving me struggling wildly changing what seem to be apparently reasonable settings in both layers (for the layer height, which is typically set to .001 or .002) and the infill tab (which I assume is the right place for this damned extrusion width value that clashes) , but nothing I do seems to take this damned warning away.

I am using a Creality CR10 and a Creality Ender2, plus for quick and dirty stuff, a DaVinci Mini w, but they all exhibit this same warning.

Many thanks to anyone who can help me out of this endless circle of Simplify 3D dire warning (although apparently valid) aggravation.

Ian

brian442
Posts: 1243
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:35 am

Re: Error message from my slicer settings

Sun Nov 19, 2017 3:59 pm

I think it's explained on their FAQ page:
https://www.simplify3d.com/support/faq/#faq-4631

doug_scott
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:37 am

Re: Error message from my slicer settings

Tue May 19, 2020 9:07 pm

I realize this is an old post, but, there is a lesson in this post for the developers of the app. Since v5 is still in development, why not fix up some of the error messages to actually apply to the version of the software. The error message for this issue is a good example of what not to do with error messages.

First, do not use terms that are not being used in the settings that you are suggesting needs to be adjusted. Had the error message used the terms that were actually in the software settings it would guide the user to the correct location. The terms may be universally exchangeable, but, unless you already know they are, and you can bet that the OP for this message was not aware, much like me, and had to go searching for the answer.

Developers need to remember that help tips must be written for the ignorant(look up proper definition for that term if you were just offended) user, not the informed user. There is nothing more frustrating that getting a "tool tip" that reads like I walked in on a conversation that is just finishing.

Return to “Feature Requests”