I've updated several machines to 3.1 now and it didn't change any settings or processes. Everything was still there. So more likely is that you used the configuration assistant or the help > reset all settings options, as both of those will remove your processes.
If you can open 3.0.2 up and still see your processes, then just export a factory file to save them.
But more importantly, why do you have so many processes to start with? If those are different settings for different machines or situations, you should really be using their profile system instead. That's what it's intended for.