I think it's extremely helpful that if you modify an FFF profile , a "(modified)" note appears next to the name as a reminder. That's great.
But, I don't like that the program defaults to the modified profile when I open the program, and I find it dangerous that I'm asked "Do you want to save the changes you made to X" every time I switch from a modified profile.
-Having the program default to the modified version undermines the value of being able to save profiles. That is, I save a profile because I want that to be my starting point when I slice a new project. If there happens to be a change I frequently make I always want it to be made from the saved version as a starting point so I don't get into some kind of settings "generational loss".
-Almost every time I use the program I need to complete the awkward ritual of clicking into another profile, clicking "No" to the question "Do you want to save the changes you made to X", and clicking back into the saved version of the profile I really want. It's very easy to accidentally click "Yes" on that dialogue, and so I'm never really 100% sure I'm actually working from the settings I want. In short, it's too easy to overwrite a precious FFF because I'm presented with the opportunity constantly. My own solution has been to keep an archive of backups of FFF settings.
It should go without saying that I absolutely love this software. I use it at home and at work. It can be easy to lose sight of that when suggesting a change, but I would like to say "thank you" to the developers, if I haven't already in the past.
~Justine